Select Page

2022 Linn County General Election Information

The general election will be held on November 8, 2022 to elect officials to federal, state and local positions. Judges will be on the ballot for retainment.  The information here is designed to help voters make an informed decsion.

To begin it is important for the voter to know their state senate and house districts in addition to their precinct and polling place.  This link will provide all the key information for each voter

Linn County Election Look Up Tool

Important Dates

Election Date is November 08, 2022

  • Pre-registration for voter registration ends Monday, October 24, 2022 at 5 p.m. (PDF)
  • Absentee ballot request forms (PDF) must be received in the office by Monday, October 24, 2022 at 5 p.m.
  • The first day our office can accept 2022 general election absentee ballot request forms is Tuesday, August 30, 2022.
  • The first day ballots can be placed in the mail is Wednesday, October 19, 2022.
  • Early voting for the general election will begin on Wednesday, October 19, 2022 and end at 5 p.m. on Monday, November 7, 2022.
  • The deadline line for requesting a satellite for the general election is Thursday, September 22, 2022.
  • Absentee ballots MUST be received in our office or ballot drop box by the close of polls on election day.
  • Polling places will be open on election day from 7 a.m. – 8 p.m.

Democratic Candidates

Democratic candidates will be running for positions in the US Senate and House, State Senate and House, State and County administrative positions.

Office Candidate Opponent
Governor Diedre DeJear Kim Reynolds
Secretary of State Joel Miller Paul Pate
Attorney General Tom Miller Brenna Bird
State Auditor Rob Sand Todd Halbur
State Treasurer Mike Fitzgerald Roby Smith
Secretary of Agriculture John Norwood Mike Naig
Office Candidate Opponent
Senate District 37 Molly Donahue Kurt Bendixen
Senate District 39 Liz Bennett Edward Bernie Hayes
Senate District 40 Todd Taylor Kris Gulick
Senate District 42 Jessica Wiskus Charlie McClintock
House District 73 Elizabeth Wilson Susan Weinacht
House District74 Eric Gjerde Unopposed
House District 77 Jeff Cooling Unopposed
House District 78 Sami Sheetz Unopposed
House District 79 Tracy Ehlert Unopposed
House District 80 Art Staed Barrett Hubbard
House District 83 Kristen Nall Cindy Golding
House District 84 Sara Yedlik Thomas Gerhold
Office Candidate Opponent
US Senate Michal Franken Chuck Grassley 
US House Liz Mathis Ashley Hinson 
Office Candidate Opponent
Linn County Treasurer Brent Oleson Paul Talley
Linn County Recorder Carolyn Siebrecht Unopposed
Linn County Attorney Nick Maybanks Unopposed
Linn County Supervisor – District 1 Kirsten Running-Marquardt Mark Banowetz
Linn County Supervisor – District 2 Ben Rogers Brett Mason